Laundry

Doing your laundry whilst midway through your trip couldn't be easier as long as you have time. It is advisable in order to keep the weight of your luggage down - and essential for the good of your fellow travellers! Here are Sally's top tips:

  • If you are staying in an 'all-inclusive' hotel it tends to be expensive as they will charge per item
  • Mid-range hotels are more affordable as they will offer a laundry service that charges per kilo
  • There are also plenty of laundrettes where you can drop off a bag and pick it up later - ask at your hotel reception where to go if they don't offer the service themselves

Time Zones

Argentina

Argentina uses the UTC-3 time zone, called Argentina Time (ART). It determines whether to observe daylight saving time on a year by year basis, although it has not since 2009.

  • UK: 4 hours ahead (08:00 Argentina = 12:00 UK)
  • USA: 1 hour behind (08:00 Argentina = 07:00 USA)
  • Australia: 14 hours ahead (08:00 Argentina = 22:00 Australia)

Chile

Chile also uses the UTC-3 time zone, and observes daylight saving time. Easter Island uses the UTC-5 time zone.

  • UK: 4 hours ahead (08:00 Chile = 12:00 UK)
  • USA: 1 hour behind (08:00 Chile = 07:00 USA)
  • Australia: 14 hours ahead (08:00 Chile = 22:00 Australia)