What are the regions of Patagonia?

What are the regions of Patagonia?
Swoop Says background image

Harriet says

If you add up all the trips, I must have spent about a year in total in Patagonia and I don't think I've seen more than 10% of it. You don't ever get used to the scale of it. Every time, it takes your breath away because you'll be in a different part, or a different season. It's always new.

Harriet Pike Head of Swoop Patagonia

Regions and Geographical Landmarks of Patagonia

The major regions for adventure travel, from North to South are:

Also, see our guide to where to go in Patagonia for more information on these places and other less visited destinations.

The major geographical landmarks are:

  • The Patagonian Ice Cap (aka Hielo Continental, or Ice Sheet) - both North and the larger South can be seen when trekking in Patagonia. The Ice Cap feeds nearly 100 glaciers across the region
  • The volcanoes of northern Patagonia
  • The Magellan Straits and Cape Horn, which are visited on Patagonia Cruises
  • The Andes themselves - although they lose some of their altitude as they extend south into Patagonia, they lose none of their drama or majesty. Trekking Fitz Roy and El Chalten allows you to behold the wonderful spectacle of Cerro Fitz Roy's 3,375m peak
  • The Patagonian Steppe - thousands of miles of semi-arid desert lie to the East of the Andes and in their rain shadow
  • The Carretera Austral - the 'Southern Highway' stretches through over 1200km of rugged Patagonian landscape

Swoop's Interactive Google Maps

Swoop has put together some Google Maps to help you understand Patagonia's Regions, Activities, Hotels & Airports.

Why Swoop

We’ve got our feet on the ground

Expert Impartial Advice SVG

Impartial advice and a bespoke service to make your trip perfect.

Deep Roots in Patagonia

Deep Roots SVG

We are former guides, tour leaders, outdoor enthusiasts & adventurers.

For The Ends Of The Earth

Ends Of The Earth SVG

Swoop is proud to be B Corp Certified as we know sustainability is more than our carbon footprint (but we’re reducing that too).

We’re With You At Every Step

With You SVG

We’ll make sure you have the adventure of a lifetime.

Ready to plan your Patagonia adventure?



We'll spend some time listening to your aspirations, then discuss the kind of experience that might suit you.



Next we'll discuss the options, shortlist the best trips for you and present you our impartial recommendations.



We'll place a 24 hour hold on your preferred option - without obligation - whilst we talk through the details.

Whatever your budget, group size, length of stay, preferred activity or appetite for adventure, we can help.